This year’s CDs

I didn’t acquire a lot of new CDs this year, mostly because I haven’t found shelf space for the ones I bought in 2012 yet. (Damn small house.) Of the twelve I bought this year, six of them were actually released in 2013. I may get more between now and New Year’s, I suppose, but it’s looking as if I won’t. So here’s the list:

  • Mike Anton, The Past Is Like a Heart Attack (Dead Letter Office via Bandcamp). In a category by itself because Mike is local. Really good collection containing most if not all of my favorites of his.
  • Ian James Pinchback, Surreal Estate (Dead Letter Office via Bandcamp). Another local. Nice CD, well-produced, good dark songs.
  • Arcade Fire, Reflektor. It would be a good one-CD package, but it’s two CDs. Maybe I don’t get the whole concept. I like the first single, which is the title track.
  • Nine Inch Nails, Hesitation Marks. I’m embarassed to admit I have not listened to this yet even though I’ve owned it for a couple of months.
  • Iron & Wine, Ghost on Ghost. I like it better than the previous one; it’s well-developed (very produced) with interesting influences. Still not a favorite like The Shepherd’s Dog, though.
  • Lord Huron, Lonesome Dreams. I love this album. It has atmosphere though it’s a bit more constrained than Fleet Foxes or The Low Anthem. It’s one I can listen to all the way through often.

So, did I miss your favorite? Like what?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

