Not so black Friday

I did not go shopping. By now I’m sure you’ve heard that the American economy has collapsed beyond repair as a result. Sorry about that.

It’s not that I didn’t spend money. I had my furnace cleaned and tested today. By getting it tested, I was eligible for a rebate from the gas utility company, so I saved a few bucks, but I did have to pay a few more first. I’m pleased to say that my furnace burns as efficiently as it’s supposed to, and no carbon monoxide was detected in its exhaust.

Later I went to Java Hutt in Ferndale for coffee and a cookie. While I was there, I wrote an LJ post that I probably won’t ever post. Well, it seemed like a good idea when I started it, but by the time I was done, it no longer did. I’m sure Neil Gaiman has days like that, too.

In the evening I faced a dilemma: Go to the gym and keep up an every-other-day schedule, or take advantage of the rare urge to play a guitar. I did the latter, and though I played only for 20 minutes, I was happy to realize that I had not forgotten all my guitar chords or lyrics. I do need new strings, though, which means I’ll be off to a music store at some point this weekend. But then, I’m out of peanut butter too, so I have to rectify that bit of near-Lovecraftian horror too.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not so black Friday

  1. kishenehn says:

    Heh … I did not go shopping, either. I’m actually even afraid to go out for groceries today, and I really need to do that. 🙂

    And though I’m all in favor of physical fitness … when the guitar muse calls, it’s good to listen.

    • songdogmi says:

      I had to go out for some groceries today, as well as a replacement vacuum cleaner belt … except the store didn’t have the belt. Rats. I have peanut butter, now, at least.

      The guitar muse has been so silent for so long, I figured I should play it if I actually wanted to for once. I can go to the gym tonight, which is my usual night anyway.

  2. comment . . .

    my wife and I didn’t go Black Friday shopping
    in “brick and mortar” stores . . .

    glad your guitar won out over the gym for a day . . .

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: comment . . .

      I was afraid the guitar would be all miffed. “Oh, so NOW you want me, huh? About time….” But we got along pretty well.

      I hear this online shopping is all the rage. I should try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

