For the benefit of my unauthorized biographer

I don’t know if there’s any reader demand for more information about who I am, but during my years on LJ I’ve thrown some biographical info and similar stuff up here. There’s my profile, of course, but I was interested in a list of posts where I shared more details, so here it is:

There’s also my SAQ tag. SAQ stands for “Seldom Asked Questions.” I may come up with an FAQ someday, but it’ll probably be all questions about my beard. SAQ is more interesting, longer pieces about my past. Well, I hope they’re more interesting; they are for sure longer, though.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to For the benefit of my unauthorized biographer

  1. maxauburn says:

    No Beatles, Pink Floyd, Yes, Jethro Tull, Yardbirds, Renaissance, or Who albums on that list? 😉

    I don’t mind turning gray, either, as I was often called “Babyface” in high school.
    I like that it makes me look older.

    I like driving in snowfalls, too-it’s kind of magical!

    I think the oldest car I’ve ever ridden in was a 1950’s Rolls Royce.

    I’d love to go for a ride in a 1934 Duesenberg, though!

    • songdogmi says:

      I was 8 when the Beatles broke up, and my parents didn’t play pop music on the radio much, so I didn’t hear them much. Of course I couldn’t escape them when I did control my own radio, but it’s like all of their songs are kind of soaked into my brain. I don’t think any one Beatles album changed my life, though I believe Sgt. Pepper is the best rock album, period.

      The others you mentioned were never bands I liked much at all. Bands from the late 60s to early 80s I did like included the Moody Blues, the Eagles, Dire Straits, Electric Light Orchestra, Supertramp, Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band, Fleetwood Mac, and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

      • maxauburn says:

        I like ALL those groups, especially The Moody Blues!

        Everything they made from DAYS OF FUTURE PASSED to SEVENTH SOJOURN was incredible!

      • songdogmi says:

        Those are the best Moodies albums. But then you get to the end of Seventh Sojourn and the song “I’m Just a Singer in a Rock and Roll Band” and that’s where you realize everything’s gonna change from there on out. The later albums are good, but they’re different.

      • maxauburn says:

        I didn’t care as much for their sound after SOJOURN, but am thankful for those 7 fantastic albums!

  2. kishenehn says:

    Thanks for linking me to those … lots of fun to read. (And Medora, North Dakota … wow. 🙂

    Anyhow, I feel like a much better-equipped stalker, now. :-p

Leave a Reply

