Medium.com

Anyone know anything about Medium.com? It’s a blogging service with social elements. Well, I’m not sure they’d call it a “blogging service”; that might be too old school. It was created by the people who created Blogger (long before Google gobbled it up). They claim to be, basically, optimized for text creation (as opposed to Tumblr, which seems to be optimized for all other content). I can’t verify that, because I haven’t joined. I find the web design very legible, and they say they’ve made it ideal for mobile devices too.

Here are a couple of articles I found there today that I liked:
How Writing 1000 Words a Day Changed My Life — How one person made himself into a productive writer through a disciplined approach.

Why I Wear Nail Polish: Culture jamming a society that doesn’t want me to be myself — I’m not sure he ever says why; it’s more a rant about how society can’t really cope yet with anything that isn’t strictly binary male-female.

Anyway, I’m curious as to what you think. It is relatively new, and I don’t know how popular it is yet.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Medium.com

  1. kishenehn says:

    I signed up for it, and played with it for a little while, but ultimately decided not to use it. It has a great UI, but finding relevant stuff to read isn’t as easy as it could be … it’s hard to find a focus there.

    And although some of the writing I saw was pretty good, there’s an awful lot of self-absorbed attention whoring going on … a lot even by Internet standards.

    • songdogmi says:

      Hm. Yeah, it’s a little underdeveloped. I didn’t try explicitly to find specific topics, but I don’t think I saw a way to do that, either. And if I wanted more self-absorbed attention whoring, I’d spend more time on Facebook. 🙂

      I’ve only read good pieces there, which must be getting shared around more than other pieces. I’m sure it’ll develop over time. Maybe I’ll check back in a few months and see how it looks.

Leave a Reply

