Home again, home again, jiggedy jig for Mom

Mom’s home from the hospital. Oh, yeah, she was in the hospital, I think I mentioned that. On Sunday she was on her balcony doing some cleanup in the flower boxes, and she bent over… or she thinks she did. The next thing she knows for sure, she was on the (concrete) floor of the balcony with a big lump on her head. She called me to take her to the emergency room, just to be safe. They kept her till today, running all sorts of tests in an effort to figure out what happened. What they came up with was, she has blockages in her carotid arteries, and had a combination of things: Her heart rhythm got out of whack, and she had bent over, and the loss of blood pressure made her black out. Fortunately, there was no long term damage, and the only short-term thing was the lump on her head, which is smaller and only a little sore.

So she’s back home, and just as independent as she was. For now, she has just a couple of doctor visits to schedule, and a couple of prescriptions, but nothing too onerous. Whew.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home again, home again, jiggedy jig for Mom

  1. maxauburn says:

    Hope she won’t pass out like that again.

    • songdogmi says:

      Me too. I also hope she doesn’t get skittish about going on the balcony. It’s the best feature of her apartment. But it’s getting cold, anyway, so she wouldn’t be going out there much now.

Leave a Reply

