Hanging out with art in Ferndale

Another selfie for Sunday. OK, it’s from last Sunday. What do you expect for free?
By the art wall in Ferndale
After I took the photo I posted last Sunday, I went into Java Hutt for a mocha and a cookie. I was gratified that they were so busy, but there was no place for me to sit. So I went back outside and found a bench on the sidewalk that connects 9 Mile Road and Troy Street to the south. It was nice enough that I could write in my paper journal and have my beverage. Then I took a few more selfpix. The mural adorns the wall of the building where Affirmations community center used to be (it has offices and small businesses now). There’s a plaque describing the mural, but I forgot to look at it so I can’t tell you anything about it. Behind me is a vintage resale shop, Library Bookstore, and Java Hutt.

The art wall in Ferndale

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hanging out with art in Ferndale

  1. maxauburn says:

    The mural is interesting.

    It has a Picasso feel to it.

    And you look great – as always!

    “Java Hutt”? 😉

    • songdogmi says:

      The mural is in pretty good shape, and has been there a few years. Picasso? I dunno. I don’t know art but I know what I like. Dave suggested it was more like Joan Miró.

      Thanks for the compliment. 🙂

      As for the coffee house, I have been known to call it “Java the Hutt” but it’s really not fat and bloblike in there. There’s no apparent Star Wars connection in the decor.

Leave a Reply

