Printer ink, how quaint

My printer has reached the age where it’s pretty much pointless to walk into the average store with computers and hope to find the ink it needs. I went to Best Buy today looking for ink, and came out with two new CDs instead. Fortunately, I was able to go online and buy it, and at a substantial discount. Not from Best Buy; they didn’t have it online, either.

I’ve been out of color ink for weeks. I obviously don’t print a lot, but sometimes it’s nice to be able to. I think many of us computeristas have gotten to the point where we just don’t print much anymore. It would’ve been unthinkable to me ten years ago that I wouldn’t need to print frequently. Most of the printing I do now is documents related to my job or benefits, and so I print there in very modest quantities.

If you don’t print, it makes moving to tablets more tenable, I guess. Right now I couldn’t conceive of relying on a tablet for all my computer needs as some people seem to do now. I still need to type a lot, and to me that still requires a real keyboard (as I know from my attempts to Tweet and send short emails from my Nook). But if I can get away from needing a printer regularly, maybe other changes are in store too. Not yet, though.

P.S.: The CDs I bought were two new releases, Hesitation Marks by Nine Inch Nails and Reflektor by Arcade Fire. I haven’t unwrapped them yet, but I’m looking forward to hearing them, though maybe not back-to-back.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Printer ink, how quaint

  1. kishenehn says:

    These days, physical CDs are almost as quaint as printer ink!

    • songdogmi says:

      I know. I feel like a Luddite for buying Arcade Fire on CD, because they didn’t even become a band till after the digital age arrived. I just like my music all lined up on a shelf, y’know? (Besides, their disc came with some pretty art.)

      • kishenehn says:

        I can relate. I still have all my old LPs, and use a Pioneer receiver that I bought new in 1978!

      • songdogmi says:

        I have all my old LPs too. I don’t have my turntable hooked up, mostly because I’ve run out of room on the TV and components stand. The turntable is a Thorens I acquired in my freshman year of college from a friend who needed cash. I just found out it’s as old as I am. It could use a new stylus and maybe a new cartridge. Everything else I have is a good bit newer.

  2. maxauburn says:

    I like CDs. I think I must have at least 300 by now.

  3. changeling72 says:

    I certainly don’t like the idea that things are moving to touch screen devices. I need a keyboard to type anything more than a few words!

    • songdogmi says:

      I don’t read much about what people like us who use keyboards are supposed to do. The media is all about mobile devices, as if no one needs to write things with multiple paragraphs. Those little attached keyboards (so flat) don’t seem to be sufficient for someone who needs to write, say, 500-word reports.

Leave a Reply

