NaBloPoMo No. 1

Remember a couple of years ago when I posted every day in November? It was my replacement for National Novel Writing Month, which I’ve always wanted to do but never could manage. It was fun, and I had huge LJ statistics (which isn’t supposed to be the point, is it?), and I think I actually wrote a few interesting things. I kind-of tried it in November 2012, but only managed 15 posts in the month—still it was about 2.5 months worth of posting compared to the rest of the year.

So, I’ll try again this year, even though most months I’ve struggled to get five good posts in a month all year. I promise that all the posts won’t be about how LJ is moribund. 🙂

I’m writing this from Java Hutt, the coffee house in Ferndale I like. Ferndale has become a bit more of a hip, happening town in the last couple of years. In the daytime that’s because of some of the shopping, which is funky and nontraditional, so it brings out the young creative crowd. On weekend nights, the street crowd includes a lot of young ones going to the local bars (one gay bar and a bunch of straight bars, all coexisting nicely from what I can tell). I got lucky finding a parking space; there isn’t enough convenient parking in this town when it’s crowded. It’s quite a change from the mid-90s when I started hanging out at Gotham City Cafe and other coffee houses in Ferndale. Gotham, Lavender Moon, Xhedos, AJ’s—all gone, except for Java Hutt. And the barista is looking at me funny like she is afraid I’ll kill this one too….

Ferndale is still cool. Royal Oak is too busy, Birmingham is too rich for my blood, and you can’t really walk around in downtown Detroit; everything is too spread out. We don’t have anything really cool like Bardstown Road in Louisville, Kentucky, but Ferndale has a good bit of charm. Plus, Java Hutt does ham and cheese sandwiches really well, and I’m addicted to their mochas, iced or hot.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaBloPoMo No. 1

  1. ogam says:

    Go songdoggie, go!

    You will get nothing but encouragement from me for your epistolary endeavors, good sir!

    Once more unto the breach, dear friend, I too am launching myself into a communal November writing project: (Write Something, You Miserable F*ck) instead of NaNoWriMo.

    I’ll show you mine if you’ll show me yours! (*grinning, ducking, and running*).

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: Go songdoggie, go!

      Thanks. 🙂 I hope I’m not reduced to a sequence of LOLcats and YouTube links. 🙂 Best of luck to you and your writing efforts this month!

  2. changeling72 says:

    I’ve never developed a taste for iced coffee. It just doesn’t seem right.

Leave a Reply

