X

Ten years ago, I started this LiveJournal account. On the left is me in October 2003; on the right is from summer 2012 (it’s the most recent pic I have of the old LJ t-shirt):
October 2003New Hat #2
I was a lot less gray back in 2003. Wow. I still have the t-shirt and the hat.

Sixteen hundred eighty-two posts, 5,298 comments posted, 5,347 comments received. Bunches of photos, a few videos. Lots of links.

When I started this, I didn’t really know what I was going to do with it. This year, I still wondered what I should do with it. This writing random thoughts seems to be the thing, though. They say (you know, They) a blog should be focused on a topic in order to promote interest. I guess the only topic has really been me, which… y’know, I like being me, but whether I’m a topic that promotes interest, I dunno. There are readers, and I have a friends list. Maybe it works.

It has gotten very little notice outside LJ. Very early on, my blog got quoted by the Columbia Journalism Review when I said something about political speech based on fallacies. Much more recently, something I wrote about the end of the current ice age was cited by someone interested in such things (but the link seems to not work now). Other than that, friends and family have occasionally stumbled on it. Almost all the traffic is from other LiveJournal members.

With LJ, I always liked being able to discover people through what they wrote. I’ve read funny things, and I’ve read things that made me cry, even from people I didn’t know about till I found their LJ. Of course, I’ve read things that made me think, and I’ve learned a lot, and been entertained. There are a few LJ members who I think of as friends, even though I’ve never met them in real life.

Thank you, everyone who has read my LJ and who has let me read yours. It’s been a huge part of this past decade for me.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to X

  1. maxauburn says:

    Happy 10th anniversary!

    The gray looks good on you!

    I’ve gotten very gray (Beard-wise) since 2003, myself!

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks!

      We better be happy with gray, since that’s what we have now, huh?

      • maxauburn says:

        Believe it or not, I did dye my beard a few times back in 1999 and 2000. This was before it started to turn gray.

        I got sick of all the red, blonde, light brown and medium brown hairs in it. I wanted it ALL dark brown.

        But the dye was messy and my cats were allergic to it, so, that was the end of that.

        I would never dye my beard now.

        I’m rather fond of the gray!

  2. changeling72 says:

    Happy anniversary!

    My hair hasn’t turned grey. It’s fallen out.

    • songdogmi says:

      Congratulations on your 10-year anniversary, too! Isn’t the gift for the ten-year anniversary supposed to be an iPhone?

      My hair is falling out AND turning grey (not in that order). I don’t know what’s worse, when one of the dwindling colored hairs falls out, or when one of the grey ones does.

  3. kenny2fl says:

    Have enjoyed your posts.

  4. zenicurean says:

    Happy LJ anniversary!

    I hope to make ten years on the site myself one day. I do occasionally seriously consider leaving; I’m lazy and never do, though.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks!

      Someday should be in this coming February, according to your profile. Please don’t go—your writing is so good, so interesting, so erudite and witty (are you blushing yet?). Seriously, I’d miss your posts if they weren’t here.

Leave a Reply

