Mom update

Things have taken kind of a turn here. Back in mid-August, my mother had a cold, which wouldn’t have been bad, except she started coughing up blood — not huge amounts, but any amount is cause for concern. After a couple of tests, lung cancer was diagnosed. After a couple more tests, they determined it had spread pretty far beyond the lung. This is, of course, a Pretty Big Deal, and not just because I’m driving her to more doctor appointments and tests than ever. (Thank Providence I have the best manager at work.)

Her spirits are very good, all things considered. I believe she has the right outlook; she is not in denial about how serious this is, but she’s pretty consistently cheerful and trying to do things to help herself. After all, there is nothing else to do other than live as normally as possible as long as possible. She’s not the sort to worry or dwell on things. Physically, she does have considerable breathing impairment, but she has adapted her activity to it only somewhat and it rarely causes her problems. She never ran marathons, but she can handle a grocery trip.

She has an oncologist who she likes, and he recommended no chemo on account of her other chronic issues and age. So she started this week on a course of palliative radiation, which should do some good things while minimizing side effects. They’re not expecting a cure. There’s no reasonable way to expect a cure. They are expecting to reduce a couple of skin lesions that have been causing her pretty much the only pain she has had, though, which would be wonderful. They’re also radiating the mass in her lungs to try to reduce it, since it’s blocking the left bronchial tube. (I’ve been Tweeting about this, lately.)

This is the big thing going on in my life, so there hasn’t been much else that was worth writing about in LJ. (Trust me, you didn’t want to read what I thought of what was going on in Washington, DC in the last three weeks.) I’ve been managing to get to work and to the gym, and whatever family things have come up. And there have been more family things lately because, well, you know. But that’s about it. I won’t promise any change, because I don’t think I can control that now. I also won’t write a Mom-A-Day series, not the least because she wouldn’t want that.

There’s no good way to close this; I’ll just say thanks in advance for any and all good wishes. We need nothing here except as much time as possible.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mom update

  1. Love and hugs Charlie…and a lot of time.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks. šŸ™‚ Her goal is to make it to her 75th birthday, which is in May. She passed up a big party at 70 because she wants one for 75. So she better make it, because the marching band deposit is non-refundable. šŸ™‚

  2. songdogmi says:

    Re: comment . . .

    You’re welcome. I hope all has been well with you and yours.

  3. jjfmi says:

    Just now catching up with this… sending hope, hugs and good wishes where needed.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks, John. You knew a large part of this, I think. There’s just the developments in treatment that have arisen since we saw each other last. She’s still doing well — was a little crabby this morning, but that’s been normal at 7:30 a.m. for decades. šŸ™‚

  4. I have you in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

