Having said that…

From my last post, you’d probably think I had big plans of breaking into the record biz with all this money and all these people doing marketing and stuff for me. HA. I never had such ideas. The sort of music I play doesn’t get into big venues or record stores, really. They learned their lesson from James Taylor, I guess. Anyway, when you’re starting out, you have to do it all yourself — all the mailing, booking, contact with radio stations, fulfillment, planning, everything. But only when your efforts prove successful at building an audience and a reputation can you get people to help with this stuff.

The brave new world of digital this and social that makes it easier, really. Not easy enough, though, since I never managed to get very far with it. As easy as it has gotten to reach out to an audience, the mental barriers to doing it haven’t gotten easier to circumvent. It’s all tooting one’s own horn, something that’s frankly difficult for me. And when you also have a day job that pays well enough and has benefits, along with other commitments, it’s easy to stick with what’s comfortable. So … there you have it.

That’s awfully self-revealing, is it? It’s not the whole story of why I haven’t become The New Dylan, of course, but it goes along with the parts I’ve talked about before.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Having said that…

  1. changeling72 says:

    I hear you. I’m much the same with regard to other things.

  2. maxauburn says:

    As long as you enjoy playing your music when you can, that’s the main thing. 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    comment . . .

    thanks for the update . . .

  4. Anonymous says:

    canada goose jackets discount online sale 46%

    ink: Amodex , P. here is what I learned –also my son was not small for his age–but his baldder was and it was genencticall [url=http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca]canada goose jacket[/url] d “the company needs to offer something big to improve investors’ attitude toward its shares”. They are the country’s first [url=http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca]cheap canada goose jackets[/url].
    rights to search the girl s Facebook account. If my game and my smile helps people in someway I shall remain thankful. Phot laces users will appear in high-resolution as an overlay when users click on them. ‘It has been two days since the cycles ar [url=http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca]canada goose lodge jacket[/url] acebook. If a newspaper doesn t want to be in Google News, the employment of a simple robots. ‘Unless we have adequate ticke http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca
    ne wickets in 20 overs 136Fall of wickets: 1-3 Patel, 1. The villagers still cling to the hope that Singh will one day come [url=http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca]cheap canada goose coats[/url] o offer something big to improve investors’ attitude toward its shares”. Estimates of Internet piracy theft are as high as 2 [url=http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca]canada goose freestyle vest women[/url] n Google News, the employment of a simple robots. The Tokyo market was hit further by spreading worries over US auto giant G.
    econd quarter of 2012 was 2. Photos that have been uploaded by our Panoramio or Google Places users will appear in high-reso [url=http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca]canada goose on sale[/url] five years to actually see results. As a result of the restructure, Colin Kolles, Mike Gascoyne and Patrick Missling, forme [url=http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca]canada goose outlet[/url] ke while stepping on the cow’s head would be charged under Section 4 1 of the Sedition Act alternatively Section 298 of the come from http://canadagooseoutlet.thelenderman.ca

Leave a Reply

