Bandcamp

Anyone out there familiar with Bandcamp, the music site? It’s a place where musicians put CDs and other recordings online, available for sale and download. I just discovered they have enhanced their features for fans, so I created my own fan page there. One prominent feature of Bandcamp’s fan pages is that it shows what you have purchased through the site, and what you want to get someday. So far I have one CD purchased, Mike Anton’s collection The Past Is Like a Heart Attack, and two on a wishlist. I guess fans can connect with each other. Everything is all social media these days, y’know. I’ve always liked Bandcamp, but until recently it was really hard to find anything unless you knew a performer was already there. Now it’s easier to browse there, which is cool.

I may put my own recordings up there eventually. That doesn’t mean I’m suddenly ramping up to become the Next Big Thing. It seems like it would be a relatively easy way to put “product” out there. But I’m not rushing into that yet.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bandcamp

  1. changeling72 says:

    Would you like to be famous?

    • songdogmi says:

      My initial response was “I don’t want to be famous… I want to be notorious!

      In all seriousness, I think I’ve always wanted to be “noted”, but “famous” comes with a whole lot of baggage I don’t really want. To have my work appreciated (music or writing or photography) would be ideal, but to have celebrity would be a living hell, really.

      Not that I’m taking any steps toward becoming noted, mind.

  2. kenny2fl says:

    Any copyright protection?

    • songdogmi says:

      I don’t think there’s DRM on the files. I think if you put up music, you can set a price for downloads, or set the price as free. I think I saw that they didn’t do anything to the files for copyright protection. I haven’t investigated uploading my own CDs yet.

Leave a Reply

