That Was The Fortnight That Was

It’s almost fall here, not according to the calendar, and not consistently, but we’ve had some very nice but cool days with that certain smell in the air. We haven’t had much of a summer, in that we’ve only had about two weeks of hot weather, but I don’t mind that at all.

My sister turned 50 this week. We had a celebration that seemed more like one of my birthdays: Meatloaf and Sanders chocolate buttercream (“Bumpy”) cake. Hey, it was her choice. I didn’t mind that at all, either.

My friend and music colleague Mike Dorn is in town for a bit. I’m hoping to see him at jjfmi‘s open mic on Monday at Mentobe Cafe in Farmington and at a solo show at The Dovetail coffeehouse in Warren on Thursday. I will try not to be obnoxious yelling out for “I Killed the Ice Cream Man” but I will sing along.

My Twitter account has 999 Tweets. I’ve been stuck there for most of the week, trying to come up with something of great import worthy of being the millennial tweet, as it were. What a load of nonsense, eh? Maybe I’ll just say “I had toast this morning” and get on with my life.

Apart from that, life has been work, sleep, and trying to figure out how to fit things in that need to be done, want to be done, etc. Kinda normal, in other words.

Coda: I haven’t been writing here lately because there’s Stuff going on. I’m not ready to disclose such Stuff, but it’s not going to be happy Stuff, so don’t bate your breath.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That Was The Fortnight That Was

  1. changeling72 says:

    We’ve had the hottest summer for seven years – I’m so glad we’re sliding into autum now.

    • songdogmi says:

      I’ve heard some reports of your hot weather; it kind of surprised me. My area has had a mild summer, with hardly any real heat, but the middle of the country has been baking most of the summer. I’m sure they can’t wait to see autumn come.

  2. comment . . .

    Saw you on My Guests page.

    Added ya!

    Add me back?

Leave a Reply

