Only 2 1/2 weeks this time…

I’m at Dave’s house for the weekend. He’s taking a nap, but I’m napped out, so I thought I’d throw some sort of summary together. I’ve had a sinus “issue” for most of the last week, and I think I got it from my great-nieces AGAIN. So I’m in the market for a child-safe bubble to inhabit when I’m around them. I think I turned a corner with the bug today. Otherwise, I’d be napping instead of writing in LJ.

I have a new camera — This one, a Canon PowerShot SX500 IS. It’s not a digital SLR, as I had speculated I would get. I realized that I’m not doing enough of the kind of photography that I used to do with an SLR, wildlife and especially birds. I didn’t want to spend $700 or more if I wasn’t going to fully exploit the features. The one I bought has the form of an SLR but is smaller. It has a ton of features, and most of them work the way they worked on my previous Canon. And it was on sale! I haven’t done a lot with it yet, but I hope to, perhaps as early as today.

Let’s see, what else… well, a certain company with which I have enjoyed a long relationship has chosen to pursue restructuring its balance sheet using the Chapter 11 process, which is about as pleasant a way of putting it without using the “B” word. There are no plans for layoffs or selling off portions of the business or anything drastic like that; it’s certainly not a Hostess Bakery situation. I guess I can’t really say anything more than that, since this isn’t any sort of official forum. It’s just a sailing excursion into uncharted waters, as far as I’m concerned, but I’m not the captain by any means so I’ll just keep on rowing in the galley. As it were.

The weather here has been pretty damp, both in Detroit and in Louisville. I have wondered “when did I move to Florida?” since we’ve had near-daily thundershowers for a couple of weeks. It hasn’t been hot, like in other areas, for which I am extremely grateful.

Finally… I just bought my ticket for the Hiawatha Music Festival, so I will be going up north to music camp with all my Marquette friends. One of my favorite songwriters, John Gorka, is one of the headliners. Yay!

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Only 2 1/2 weeks this time…

  1. jjfmi says:

    No Bliss this year for me, and still haven’t been to Hiawatha. Time to make a trip to Leslie’s place, methinks – if for no other reason than to make sure my trailer hasn’t entirely become an ant habitat… eeek.

Leave a Reply

