Stuff and Things

I’ve been collecting Web things and I’m on the verge of losing them in the pile of other Web things, so:

1. Feedly Launches a Standalone Webapp, No Extension Necessary … see, Google Reader, their RSS application, is being discontinued as of July 1. Feedly was always well-liked but had some limitations, especially if you weren’t one of those smartphone-wielding sorts. Now you can use Feedly via a regular Web browser without installing any browser extensions (though you can probably still do that too if you want). I’ll check this out better this weekend. I use Google Reader daily to keep up with news, blogs, and web comics, and their exit is just one of several reasons why I don’t really trust Google anymore.

2. The Basics of Music Production: The Complete Guide … possibly quite useful if I can ever get my act and house together enough to record music again.

3. New music (to me): Folly & the Hunter are an indie-folk band from Montreal. Sound-wise they’re a little like Bon Iver, something like Lord Huron, a little wilder than old Iron & Wine. Does that make sense? I like what I’ve heard; they’re getting play on CBC Radio 2’s The Signal. Their first album (from 2011) is available on Bandcamp and their second is available through their website.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuff and Things

  1. changeling72 says:

    Why did you stop recording music? Did life get in the way?

    • songdogmi says:

      Yeah, pretty much. This year, I was planning to set up space to do it, and then get started. Then my mom got sick and that derailed my plans. She has been well for months, but I’m still derailed. I’m hoping to make more progress again, but if I had to say when at this moment, I would be hard-pressed to come up with an answer.

Leave a Reply

