Everything’s broken

I’ve been somewhat sick most of the time since I last wrote. (“Somewhat?” you say? Feh.) All I will say is, little kids need more time in the autoclave to get them clean so they don’t spread little intestinal bugs to adults. I’m at least mostly better now.

But worse than mere physical infirmity was being confronted by the beauty of 23 peony blooms in various state of blooming in my backyard, only to find the digital camera has managed to reach a particularly dysfunctional state. The camera turns on, but the display doesn’t show what the camera is pointing at, though it does have all the menu items lining the edges as usual. The shutter button often doesn’t do anything, but if I manage to get the shutter to work — well, maybe the shutter doesn’t work, but it sounds like it does — the resulting “image” is all black and, well, basically nothing. Tiny file size, histogram at zero. A photo full of emptiness.

This revoltin’ development occurred sometime after May 11, which is when I took what’s probably the last photo ever from this camera, which was of my lilac bush in the back yard. So it’s either back to film for me, or it’s time to buy a new camera. I’ve been considering getting a dSLR for a while. It’s just not the only thing I could logically spend $700 or more on. It may not even be the best thing, in fact. Being an adult is sometimes not much fun. Anyway, if anyone is wondering why my LJ is so blah or my Flickr seems stagnant, now you know. Sigh.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Everything’s broken

  1. changeling72 says:

    If you can afford it, then why not treat yourself?

    • songdogmi says:

      Mostly because of all the other things I could do, like house repairs and dental work and ooh I just remembered I have to pay for the tires that I put on a credit card. But maybe I can juggle things just right and get a camera after all. I’m going to start missing having one something fierce soon, I know.

  2. maxauburn says:

    You owe it to yourself to get a camera.

    I know I would be lost without one, myself.

    • songdogmi says:

      I’m still trying to figure out if I have to have the big expensive camera or if a smaller one (that costs less) will suit my needs. I can handle a digital SLR, I’m sure, but I don’t know that I’ll get back to the point where I’m using all the features. So I don’t know yet what to do. I got spoiled, though. I could go back to film, but that costs money every time pictures are taken and they still have to be scanned in so they can be put online.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Sorry about the camera and the bug. Oy.

    My theory on the latter: that day care centers and kindergartens are fronts for secret government biological weapon labs. I drew that conclusion after picking up the. worst. virus. ever. from my niece when she started school.

    She’s 21 now, and we all lived.

    Fran

    • songdogmi says:

      Children, as cute as they are, are the perfect incubators for bacteria and viruses, unfortunately. Glad to hear your niece has achieved adulthood, and probably doesn’t inflict too many bugs on other people anymore.

      As for the camera … sigh. It was weird going out for a drive tonight and not taking a camera. It was the sort of drive where I could’ve used one, but it’s only good as a paperweight now.

Leave a Reply

