Resurfacing after six and a half weeks… No, you haven’t missed anything; there have been no private posts. I’ve been reading my friends list (and a few others), so I haven’t been totally absent. I just haven’t bothered to overcome the inertia enough to post anything.

I don’t know what this space is for, anymore. There have been several different topics and genres over the years. Some posts are like personal letters. Others have been essays on environmental or political issues. There have been photos. There have even been poems and attempts at whimsical fiction. I write about my musical career, such as it is, when there’s something to say about it, such as a show to promote.

I don’t have the sense that any of it is terribly compelling for anyone besides me anymore—haven’t had that sense in a year or more. The fellow LJers from a few years ago have either disappeared or cut way back on their blogging, and almost all have left LJ if they are blogging. It’s rare that non-LJers show up here, maybe due to the stigma of LJ these days (that’s the technical term for that old, moldy smell everyone seems to sense when they find out someone is still on LJ). Some say that blogging itself is passé, though there sure are a lot of blogs out there in the world so I kind of doubt it.

Now, if my point with this journal was to find an audience, I’d have to admit I haven’t done a great job of promoting my writing here so that it could find one. There are other LJers I’ve been reading for a decade now who I’ve never friended, and that’s almost sub-basic, isn’t it? I’ve never done any of the things the blog experts say one should do, such as narrow the focus to a particular field or post on a regular schedule. To say nothing of the dreaded search engine optimization. So it’s no surprise that the world has not beat a path to my door. I wouldn’t know what to do with the world if it did, to be honest.

The unthinkable has happened, even: I get more feedback on Facebook when I post little status messages and links than I’ve gotten here in years. I don’t even post there that much, most out of suspicion of the platform, but when I do it actually tends to be rewarding just because there are people there who interact.

So I don’t know. I keep thinking of relaunching my blogging career, with tweaks. Maybe focus only on music, say. Work harder at writing and making it compelling. Or something like that. It wouldn’t necessarily be here, although as long as LJ exists in a useable form it’s still a very good option as far as I’m concerned. But all the action is on Tumblr and WordPress these days, and they can’t be ruled out. I guess I could also go back to doing what I was doing here with the world of random thoughts, once I decide I’m done with my hiatus. I think I’m kind of at ground level, and I pretty much have to start over no matter what I do. The $64-dollar question is, what do I want to do?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. changeling72 says:

    It’s good to see you posting again.

    I think it’s a shame when people leave LJ and start up their own WordPress or whatever site. It probably says a lot about me, but I find it far easier to keep up with people on one site, rather than going from site to site to read individual blogs. For me, it also loses the sense of community that LJ has (or had). I once thought I might, possibly, make real friends, on LJ, but I think the gradual process of people leaving without a bye nor leave, kiss my arse, or nice chatting to you and sharing your life over the years has denuded me of that illusion. It is what it is. I’ll keep blogging away and if LJ disappears I’ll do it somewhere else.

  2. songdogmi says:

    Thanks, John. And likewise, anytime you wanna write, I wanna read.

    When I was a kid, I thought I wanted to write newspaper columns. An LJ could be that sort of thing (or any blog, really). But they take consistent work to do well. That’s why I ended up doing the mish-mash of personal stuff, politics, music, environment, and photos that my LJ has been. That’s not really like the newspaper columnists I read and respected when I was younger. That doesn’t really have to matter anymore, though, I guess.

  3. songdogmi says:

    I need a wheel I can spin (like on Wheel of Fortune) so I can make a decision! 🙂

Leave a Reply

