Poetry month

It’s National Poetry Month in the U.S. and Canada. Don’t be afraid! I haven’t gone wall-to-wall verse here yet! I actually don’t have a whole lot planned yet that’s poetry-related. You’d think I wouldn’t be surprised by the arrival of April every year, but there you go.

Elaine Elizabeth Belz, a friend from the old open mic days at Xhedos Cafe in Ferndale, has started a blog of her poetry. Her work is searching, maybe a little dark, rooted in her introspection and spirituality. She has self-published three volumes of her work, which are very hard-to-get now (perhaps out of print). The one volume I have is a very attractive, well-designed book (I would notice that, wouldn’t I?). Her blog, located at http://eebelz.blogspot.com/, is bringing some of the poems back, occasionally with some revision. The first entry gives the background from which I extracted some of the details above.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

