Charlie Monterey on SoundCloud

Among the things I haven’t been saying here is, I have a page for my music on SoundCloud, the URL for which is http://soundcloud.com/charliemonterey. I still have the ReverbNation page, and the MySpace page*, so this makes three different places where some of my recordings are available for streaming, though I note that there are still a few songs from my CDs that are unavailable online (unless I somehow became A Thing on some illicit mp3 download site [ha!]).

My start on SoundCloud was a bit different from the others. I was poking around there and found recordings by the son of one of my friends; these were acoustic guitar tunes, swirling things recorded in a decidedly lo-fi way. Around the same time, I was working on my old tape digitizing project, and I had three pieces that, imperfect as they are, I wanted to put them somewhere if only to inspire me to relearn them and record them properly. So those were the first three SoundCloud tracks. I’ve since added four tracks from my CDs, including “Traveling Clothes.” Oh, and the one Christmas song, too.

I keep debating whether to delete the three imperfect instrumentals. No one seems to have noticed them yet on the site, so it’s been easy to let them ride. But I’m a little concerned that people will hear them and go “ewwwg,” without realizing that they’re almost 30 years old and recorded on barely functional equipment. If you do listen to them, please be kind.

*MySpace just relaunched and I need to re-register; I have no idea what this page looks like anymore, and the only reasons I haven’t deleted it are (1) it’s free, and (2) deleting it would probably kill what little impact I have on ReverbNation. Well, (3) inertia, too.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

