Mom’s still incarcerated, no, sequestered! No, how ’bout lodged in a medical facility; today makes day 17. But she had a step forward as today she was moved to a long-term acute care facility (or L-TAC) to continue her recovery. This means she still needs care, but not as much as what a hospital supplies; the care she needs requires nurses and IV antibiotics every 8 hours, which is impractical to do at home unless one is wealthy and can hire a live-in medical staff. But she’s getting stronger and shouldn’t require advanced or urgent actions. The plan calls for two weeks of these antibiotics, then she can go home, sweet home. There will be much rejoicing, though it will probably of the low-key, smile-a-lot kind and not a huge honkin’ party.

Me, I’m still kinda whacked out from trying to keep my normal obligations going plus visiting and worrying about Mom. I know the “worrying about” part is no help, but it appears to be unavoidable. I regret that I’m not writing much here. What happens is, I come up with a very nice idea of something to write, and then I kind of stare at the screen until I realize I’ve been zoning out and then I open up Facebook or someone’s Tumblr page or something. It’s short-circuiting my impulses to comment, too, which is a shame because there have been quite a few nice LJ posts lately. Know that I’m reading them, still. I know it’s hard to tell that there is an audience out there if there are no comments, but … well, I am here. Somewhere.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    I hadn’t popped over here in a few weeks and just saw about your mom. Grateful that she’s making good progress. I send healing vibes and Oakley sends Pyr pats and a big lean.
    namaste,
    Fran

  2. songdogmi says:

    Thanks, Fran. (I haven’t said anything about it on FB, except to my cousins in our cousin group.) She’s getting so many healing vibes and prayers and such, she has to be getting better, and she’s very appreciative. She has made a lot of progress.

Leave a Reply

