My mom has been in the hospital since last Saturday. It appears the main reason is an infection that’s causing fluid buildup around her lungs, along with some pneumonia in her lungs, and all that made her very weak. She’s receiving antibiotics and other therapy, and she’s doing fairly well most days. Communication with the hospital staff has been most frustrating; it seems things are only revealed piece by piece so that major developments are an utter surprise. I don’t think me camping out there 12 hours a day would help, either. After discharge it looks as if she’ll be able to go home with just a little more help around the apartment, but with some changes that will be disruptive for a while. That’s still better than having to go to a facility of some sort. Now we just have to figure out when she can go home. It can’t be soon enough, if you ask Mom.

Needless to say (but I’m typing it out anyway), a lot of things in my life are on hold at the moment because of frequent hospital visits and attempts to handle Mom’s business for her. It’s been very stressful. I’m trying to balance what I need to keep going (work, some workouts) against what’s less important, which is why I was gone from LJ for the whole week except for a comment or two.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. changeling72 says:

    Having ageing parents is rather a role-reversal, methinks. I’m sorry to hear all of this is going on – and hope your mum recovers soon.

    • songdogmi says:

      This caregiving is harder than it looks… the hardest part might be helping with changes that need to happen for a parent’s benefit but that they don’t really want. E.g., we’re getting Mom a bed — she hasn’t used one in years, and has been happy sleeping on the couch. But that’s not very safe, really. Problem is, her bedroom needs complete rearranging, and the overarching reason is that she has to live differently now.

  2. jjfmi says:

    Sending good thoughts and hope for speedy healing to your mom… keep me posted, ok?

  3. kenny2fl says:

    Stay strong & I hope your mother is recovering.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks. She is much better than she was a week or so ago, but it looks like the infection takes a long time to recover from. She might be in some facility for quite a while yet before going home. I’m just now finding out the details today and tomorrow.

  4. songdogmi says:

    Thanks Jerry. I hope you’re all better soon, too.

Leave a Reply

