Rabbit Hole Day, or not

Last year, I explained the peculiar observance of the birthday of author Lewis Carroll, Jan. 27, that arose on LJ, what, seven years ago: on that day, to write as if one had fallen down a rabbit hole into a world a bit different from the usual. The point was to make LJ a bit more creative, surreal, and interesting than it ordinarily was. It had some steam, and seemed to peak in 2009 with notice in BoingBoing and by noted author Warren Ellis, among other sources.

But by last year, it seemed to have faded completely. I encountered no other exercises save my own. There’s a community on the topic that hasn’t seen updates in almost two years. It doesn’t appear that the “founder” even had anything last year (not that he doesn’t regularly write fantastic fiction of several types for a living, really). Maybe it’s because LJ has declined in the English-speaking world so much, or maybe it’s because LJ-style journaling has declined so much in general. Or maybe readers pay more attention to sparkly vampires than talking dormice. I dunno.

It’s a shame, too. I hatched two possible storylines just today (three, maybe, I just remembered the third one; it’s been a slow day at work). I swore I was going to ignore it — I still have selfpic-a-day and music to write, after all. Mostly, I don’t want to be that weird kid who is still doing something after all the other kids are on to the next thing.

Oh. Wait….

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rabbit Hole Day, or not

  1. laurel714 says:

    I’d be down for that. Just a completely random hallucination-esque post, right?

    • songdogmi says:

      Yeah, pretty much. I think the main angle is that suddenly things are different, say, you wake up and your normal world suddenly has unicorns and pegasi or something. Or, maybe gryphons.

Leave a Reply

