Random notes for Friday

About Google+: I also solicited comment in my Facebook about it, and got a few more responses. The general consensus seemed to be that it could be cool if there were more people there, but so far there isn’t a lot of people there, so the few people who are there don’t use it much. I’m going to poke around at it a little more to see what happens.

About selfpic-a-day: In retrospect, starting this in January poses some challenges, since taking photos outdoors is kind of hard on account of short daylight and cold temperatures. If this is a 30-day project, it’s going to be mostly indoor photos, which might be a bit limiting. On the other hand, it could lead to some breakthroughs, like the one I had on Wednesday night. Not only did I do a pretty nice two-light setup using cobbled-together lamps, I figured out how to use completely manual settings on the camera, exposure and focus. Used to do that all the time with my film camera, but adjusting aperture and f-stop is a lot more cumbersome with a digital camera since they’re made for auto functions (unless you buy a digital SLR, I guess).

About music: I think I’m going to a concert put on by a local songwriters group tonight. It should be enjoyable. But the venue is small, especially the front “lobby” which is tiny and always makes me very claustrophobic. I sometimes have problems with crowds. In fact, I should join the group, so I can be on the stage in that place as it’s the most spacious space in the building. Anyway, it’ll probably be a good time, assuming I don’t talk myself out of going.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random notes for Friday

  1. songdogmi says:

    I did OK with the crowd, although it helped that I didn’t go to the lobby at intermission. (I had already gotten enough cookies, didn’t need more temptation). I had a good time overall. Y’all put on a good show.

Leave a Reply

