Selfpic a day

Jan. 10, 2013
For reasons known only to me and even I have yet to completely divine, I have embarked on a project to take a self-pic every day. It started with the photo I posted on January 5th, so I’ve made a whole week so far. (Arguably, I should be working on another photo, instead of writing about the project. Time’s a’wastin’!) The one above is from the 10th.

My inspiration in this is a Flickr phenomenon known there as, basically, a 365, especially some of the young but very advanced photographers there doing this like these. Apparently this is a tough project, and the average number of months it takes to get 365 good photos is 16, or so it seems. But some of the results I’ve seen are spectacular. I’ve yet to find a 365 on Flickr done by someone who’s middle-aged with a job and a mortgage and a “weight problem.” That could be the reason why I should do something like this, or the reason why it’s not a good idea to try — I’m still trying to figure that out. Clearly I won’t be trying any “faun leaping in the woods” photo (Or will I????) but there must be some interesting poses and settings for the likes of me. So far I’ve done “moment in the life” pics. They’re not taking very long so far, but I don’t expect that to continue.

Officially, I’m calling this a “30” not a “365,” because I have a plan to start a music project a little later this year. On February 5, I’ll know whether I’m done with the selfpic-a-day or will keep going. In the meantime, I’m looking to have fun, be creative, and maybe learn some things about photography or photo manipulation. Maybe I’ll even defeat some of the negative thinking that sometimes afflicts my projects (yes, it’s true, it happens).

The music thing has a prerequisite of creating a new space in my house where I can sit and focus on music. (There’s clutter everywhere and I’m pretty much constantly distracted to where I can’t play guitar for more than 20 minutes.) I figure that’ll take all of January, in between work and everything else.

Anyway, wish me luck, I guess!

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

