I was going to try NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) this month, just as I did in 2011. I’m glad I didn’t announce it on, say, October 31, because I promptly missed two days out of the first week. Duh. Well, I’ve been preoocupied with that tape archive project, which has yielded 1 1/2 CD-RWs worth of material (29 tracks) so far. Probably none of it is suitable for public consumption, but it’s a cool trip down memory lane for me and I might be able to retrieve a couple of instrumental tracks so I can re-learn and maybe do something more with them.

I was shocked to learn that sometime between 1984 and 1986, someone sounding a lot like a young version of me recorded a version of Anne Murray’s big hit “Snowbird.” Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately), it was ruined early in the last verse when suddenly a snippet of Morris Day & the Time’s “Jungle Love” blared in. So THAT will probably not make it into the big boxed set of rarities and B-sides.

All the really old gnarly tapes have been gone through now except for one. Which is good, because I was kind of feeling guilty about spending so much time with them. But I have more tapes, things from my first four-track recorder, not to mention a decade and a half of open mic set tapes. Yeesh. This could keep me busy all winter.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. songdogmi says:

    Well, I could fade it out before the break happens; there’s enough of the last chorus to know the song’s almost over. It’ll be like what the BBC World Service used to do with shortening songs on the shortwave broadcasts of hit music many years ago. 🙂

    “Snowbird” is one of those songs that a lot of people sneer at. It’s so “nice,” I guess. I always thought it was a very good song. Plus, I was EIGHT when it came out. I couldn’t have been expected to be into Procol Harum or anything like that then. (Well, not with my parents and their influences.)

    Gene Maclellan, a friend of Anne Murray’s wrote the song.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’ll have the spam eggs bacon sausage and spam, that hasn’t got much spam in it.

    yes, I’m getting about the same.

Leave a Reply

