Election eve pessimism

I have used the quote “Our long national nightmare is over” several times in referring to the arrival, at last, of election day here in the states. This has been the most rancorous election I remember (keeping in mind that I was only six in 1968, which was probably the former standard for rancorous American elections). Truth is still weeping in the corner, and I fear by the end of the week she’ll go catatonic as the supporters of the losing candidates go ballistic. I wish I was being hyperbolic, but I just remember how things were in 2008 … and 2004 … and 2000 ….

I also wish I could say that we’ve learned our lessons and 2016 will be better, but there’s absolutely no reason for optimism. It’s clear to me that the Citizens United decision changed everything for the worse, that lying and dishonest conflation destroys and does not build, and that American politics is to a huge extent a race for the bottom. But I don’t believe that the people involved in politics understand all that. And they put ever-increasing barriers to any reform (viable third parties, campaign finance reform) in the way of citizens who care.

By this time tomorrow, oddly enough, I may end up almost perfectly satisfied with the outcome of the races I voted in. But it’ll be hard for me to really appreciate that as I see the political landscape trashed as if a hurricane just made landfall. And it’ll be hard to appreciate any victories when I realize that the next presidential campaign will probably start less than 24 months from now.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Election eve pessimism

  1. songdogmi says:

    Not disputing most of what you say, of course.

    CBS and NBC just called the election for President Obama.

  2. songdogmi says:

    I’m definitely looking forward to a lot fewer lies being spread about the bridge project. Hoping Maroun and his minions just shut up now.

    I’m afraid you’re right, though. The LJ post I haven’t written (probably won’t) leading up to the election would be about the problem of having the same Congress again. I wish there was a way the Democrats could’ve pushed harder on getting control of the House, but it was probably just not possible. I like this result way better than having the same Congress but a Republican president. And maybe, just maybe, we can keep moving closer to sanity….

Leave a Reply

