She was quite a lady, Enola Gay

The old tape digitizing project involves more than one tape that oddly alternates between my own recordings and dubs off the radio. I discovered a treasure on the last tape I worked on, a radio dub of Canadian songwriter Gary O’s “Shades of ’45”. Living in a border town gives me access to radio you can’t get further inland. Even still, “Shades of ’45” was a rare treat from one of the Windsor, Ontario stations, given they were also trying to play enough American songs to attract Detroit audiences. Anyway, I was nuts for this tune, and was very pleased to get it off the radio, even with an auto-level controlled tape deck. And then, inadvertently churlishly, I put the tape in a drawer and forgot about it for twenty-five years. Now that I’ve been reminded, I will head out to one of the usual (legal) culprits and get an mp3 of it. For now, here’s the video. It’s kind of a history lesson wrapped in 80’s Canadian pop-rock. What’s not to like?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She was quite a lady, Enola Gay

  1. Anonymous says:

    Charlie, if you’re compiling a “Charlie’s Lost Tapes” volume, I have hours of cassette (and possibly a few digital file) recordings from Xhedos/AJ’s from over the years. If you’re in the mood to peruse them, I’ll make them available to you. Be forewarned – your performances are likely mixed in with other open mic performers from that particular evening. On the upside of that, some of those performances also feature those by Mike Dorn, Sean Fitz, and a few others from that era. 🙂

Leave a Reply

