Saturday afternoon at the zoo

Arctic fox

I did get to the Detroit Zoo with Dave last Saturday. We got there a little late and then were disappointed to learn that the zoo was closing at 4 p.m. instead of 5 p.m. because they held the Zoo Boo that evening (a Halloween event). We got to see most of the best parts of the zoo; we just had to move quickly. The one other disappointment was that the red pandas were not out. We couldn’t tell if they were merely indisposed or they were officially off display. They have the baby, now, but it shouldn’t have taken all of the pandas to keep little Sherman company.

Grevy's zebra

At The Zoo is my set of all my zoo photos (mostly Detroit’s, a couple from Louisville’s) on Flickr. The critters I photographed included vultures, a gorilla, a lion, and polar bears.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday afternoon at the zoo

  1. Anonymous says:

    Shame you didn’t get to see the red pandas. Is that an Artic fox?

  2. songdogmi says:

    Yes, it is. I’ve only seen them in a partially grey coat, typical of the transition in late summer. This guy (or gal; I didn’t ask) is all set for winter.

    I was really looking forward to the red pandas, but what can ya do. I understand they’re busy.

Leave a Reply

