LJ stats and such

It appears readership on LJ has fallen off another plateau; my statistics from the last two weeks are down noticeably from August. Of course I must admit that my posting is down too, which might affect statistics (though I think I’m calculating them in a way that controls for my lack of posting). It’s not just me; it appears writership in general has dropped off further. Curious, I searched and dug up two recent online articles about this decline:

Exclusive: LiveJournal All but Abandons U.S. Presence (Six of ten U.S.–based employees have left since Feb. 2012.)

The Demise of a Social Media Platform: Tracking LiveJournal’s Decline (a longer look at LJ’s history. One statistical bit: only 780,000 of LJ’s 38 million accounts were updated in the month of August 2012, which is only 2 percent even including the Russian accounts, presumably.)

Perhaps related: I had been using LiveJournal Backup/Search, an independent piece of software to back up my LJ posts as XML files. But it has not worked in months due to an error of “Data sent from LJ was corrupt.” (Funny, it still downloads comments properly.)

It’s too late at night to comment further. I just wanted to throw this stuff up here so it doesn’t get lost.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to LJ stats and such

  1. songdogmi says:

    The scattering is what bothers me. It always bothered me that I couldn’t get everyone I knew on LJ, or even to read my LJ. Now it’s hopeless, except for Facebook I guess, since everyone seems to be there, but … maybe the less said about that, the better.

    Don’t forget what people are doing with smartphones. There are probably apps that do what LJ did (either directly or indirectly). I don’t know because I don’t have a smart phone yet. I could be hopelessly behind now. And it could be contributing to the scattering of the peoples.

    I’m debating doing a post a day in November. It was fun last year, but I’m not even managing two posts a week on average now.

  2. changeling72 says:

    I hope LJ doesn’t fold. Or anymore people leave. My journal is nine years old tomorrow and I would be very sad to see LJ disappear and lose the connections I have made.

    • maxauburn says:

      I feel the same way about LJ.

      I’ve been on Live Journal for 7 and a half years.

      I love it here.

      One can make some REAL, deep connections with people online that just cannot be made through Facebook, Twitter, etc.

      This is where we talk of ourselves, share ideas, our joys, our pains, and our day to day lives.

      LJ is a BIG part of every one of my days.

      I only started having real friends on LJ in spring 2009, and I have noticed a huge drop among those who post here.

      This makes me sad.

      I don’t want to see LJ fold.

      • songdogmi says:

        I agree. It’s possible to go to other blog sites and write what we write, but LJ always seemed to make community work better than, say, Blogger or WordPress.

        I don’t know if it’s possible to reverse the flow of people out of LJ. Is it because they don’t like how LJ has changed over the years, or do they just not want to write a blog anymore? It’s hard to change either situation, really.

      • maxauburn says:

        Maybe some people get tired of LJ?

        It takes work, dedication, and courage to bare your soul on LJ.

        Maybe they have too much on their plate?

        I just don’t know.

        It’s sad.

        I hope it;’s a temporary trend.

        I would miss LJ something awful if it disappeared altogether. 😦

    • songdogmi says:

      I don’t know if LJ will actually fold. Even if there’s no American office and everything is done in Russia, it could still work. Even if no further development work is done, it could still continue.

      If people leave, they could still read an LJ, if the entries are not friends-locked. And we can read their blogs if they still blog somewhere else. But the connections that were made and live here seem to work better, it’s true.

Leave a Reply

