The over-equipped kitchen

Borrowed from a couple of people, notably primroseburrows and wordweaverlynn:

Bold the ones you have and use at least once a year, italicize the ones you have and don’t use, strike through the ones you have had but got rid of.

I wonder how many pasta machines, breadmakers, juicers, blenders, deep fat fryers, egg boilers, melon ballers, sandwich makers, pastry brushes, cheese knives, electric woks, miniature salad spinners, griddle pans, jam funnels, meat thermometers, filleting knives, egg poachers, cake stands, garlic crushers, margarita glasses, tea strainers, bamboo steamers, pizza stones, coffee grinders, milk frothers, piping bags, banana stands, fluted pastry wheels, tagine dishes, conical strainers, rice cookers, steam cookers, pressure cookers, slow cookers, spaetzle makers, cookie presses, gravy strainers, double boilers (bains marie), sukiyaki stoves, ice cream makers, and fondue sets languish dustily at the back of the nation’s cupboards.

Notes:
• My pizza stone does not fit in my oven; that’s why I don’t use it. (Was a gift.)
• Why I have a rice cooker is answered with “I inherited it from Rosemary.” She owned my house before I did. This is the answer to the collection of seagulls, the Garfield in fishing waders, the original window treatments which I kept for a long time (because her taste tended to be only slightly feminine), miscellaneous broken photographic studio gear and art supplies, and a whole lot of other things I still have.
• Slow cookers, oh man, they’re magical devices. Srsly.
• I have a food processor I don’t use, either. I swear, I don’t want any Christmas gifts; they just go to waste with me, sadly.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The over-equipped kitchen

  1. zenicurean says:

    I invested in a French press a while back. Wonderful little thing, and makes for a dang good cup of Colombian, but now we really need to replace our manual coffee grinder with an electric one to make the end product as fine and even-quality as it can be. (Is “even-quality” a word? I’m going to assume that’s a word.)

    • songdogmi says:

      I’ve thought about getting a French press, and I’ve also thought about getting a coffee grinder. I’m not sure whether I would use them enough — as much coffee as I drink, it’s usually made by someone else. But if it tastes really good made in a French press, that’s tempting.

      I support “even-quality”; I think it’s a fine word, or term at least.

      • zenicurean says:

        It’s legitimately tastier coffee — darker, richer, rounder, err… coffee-ier — and you can always try out some different beans, see which one works for you. That said, coffee is always coffee. If you’re not in the habit, I guess it could easily become one of those household appliances nobody ever uses.

        On the other hand, if you only drink small amounts of coffee but do it with some level of regularity, the French press can be a neat investment: The slight extra work involved in making the stuff and cleaning the dang thing will never become a hassle if you’re not constantly gulping down gallons of coffee.

    • songdogmi says:

      But the one I have is broken in! But it does need cleaning, so maybe I do need a new one. 🙂

      Otherwise, I could look for a slightly smaller pizza stone. Then I would have two. Oh, no…..

Leave a Reply

