Not a winner of a week

This week isn’t going to win Week of the Year, that’s for sure.

On Monday, after getting home from jjfmi‘s open mic, I got sick. (Note to John: In retrospect, I was already feeling it when I botched “Fall On Me” at the end playing it with you; didn’t realize it at the time.) It might’ve been from something I ate, or maybe stress, or a combination of the two. I did something I hadn’t done in a couple of decades. No, I won’t say exactly what, except that you know of a Mr. Kramden as played by Jackie Gleason? Yeah. I’m still not exactly right after that. I needed a sick day on Tuesday, and I hardly ever take those.

Work has been ridiculously stressful this week. My main project had been going so smoothly for so long, someone had to blow something up just for the excitement. I thought it was well known that excitement in publishing wasn’t supposed to happen on the production end. I think the pieces are being put back together, somehow, but it’ll take a while for the glue to set, so to speak.

I had scheduled a few days off to go visit Dave in metro Louisville, starting today. Today, about 170 miles into the trip, the timing belt decided it could no longer deal with its reality and came apart while I was traveling at 70 mph on southbound I-75. So I am spending the night in a motel in bucolic Botkins, Ohio (about fifty miles north of Dayton), waiting for repairs to happen tomorrow. At least there’s cable TV and Wi-Fi. The repair is going to be only about half as expensive as I had previously led to believe a timing belt could cost. Still, this isn’t really how I wanted to spend my work bonus.

I hope bad things only come in threes, because I don’t want to even contemplate what could go wrong next.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not a winner of a week

  1. See? that’s what happens when you drive a damn Stratus! Happy and safe travels for the rest of your trip!

    • songdogmi says:

      I guess timing belts are supposed to be changed on a schedule, several thousand miles before now. Who knew? I mean, other than people who actually pay attention to maintenance schedules….

      I do have to say, a cell phone and a Triple A card make these things a lot less stressful.

      Thanks! Here’s hoping I get to where I’m going before the next breakdown, at least.

  2. jjfmi says:

    Just catching up with my LJ reading – sounds like a rough week, indeed! Glad to hear that you, your work project, and your vehicle are all on the mend.

Leave a Reply

