2012 Woodward Dream Cruise

Best of all, it's a Cadillac
It’s that time of year when the cars bloom … no, wait, that’s not quite right. This past weekend was the 18th Woodward Dream Cruise, that weekend when people get in their classic cars and drive around giving presents and food baskets to the needy … no wait, that’s still not quite right. Anyway, Dave came up and we wandered all over Royal Oak and Berkley, photographing mostly fifty-year-old automobiles. That’s me in the upper left corner of the photo above. Dave’s shadow is in the lower-left. We’re triangulating a ’61 Cadillac and capturing it for photographic posterity.

Heavy traffic on M-1
Traffic was pretty heavy. The crowds were the largest we’d ever seen. We heard an estimate that there were 1.3 million people along Woodward Avenue and the nearby event sites. The weather was unbelievably nice, which was probably a big part of why the crowd was huge.

There are a couple more photos on my Flickr page. I’ll probably add a few more this week.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 Woodward Dream Cruise

  1. maxauburn says:

    Wow– look at all the fabulous cars!

    • songdogmi says:

      There were tons of cars. An awful lot of them were muscle cars from the 60s and early 70s (GTOs, Mustangs, Camaros, etc.), which aren’t my favorite but which are the backbone of cruising culture. I much prefer the “normal” cars of the 50s and early 60s. And I’ll squee over pretty much anything from the 40s on back if it hasn’t been chopped or otherwise modified.

Leave a Reply

