Put that on the list

I make lists. I’ve done it for years. It’s a way to corral ideas that bounce around my head, jumping up and down like excited second graders (“Pick me! Pick me!”). Put them on paper, and then you can wrangle them into some sort of order and do something about them. Well, that’s the theory, at any rate. I recently took about seven sheets of paper with various lists and transcribed them into four pages of my Franklin Planner. It seemed like a nice way to accompany a mocha at the coffeehouse. The list is nice and orderly too, arranged in categories like “house” and “finances” and “CDs to buy.” (Yeah, I still buy CDs, and I refuse to stop!) Though four pages of my tiny handwriting is a lot of tasks, the whole thing actually seemed more manageable when I was done.

Of course, the key to this system is the next step: get the list out and do things on it so you can check them off. That’s where I’m underperforming a bit. This week, I’m beginning to think that I’m stuck and not getting anywhere in life. That’s because I’m not attacking that list of things to do. It’s pretty frustrating, actually. And it wouldn’t take much. Just stop mindlessly browsing the Web or playing endless games of Solitaire and … well, I even have computer tasks, if I really must stay glued to the computer. For instance, I can’t record music until I make some room on my desktop’s hard disc for music files. That’s one of the projects on my list that isn’t really getting done.

I dunno, maybe I’m just getting dangerously close to being too self-revealing here. All I’m saying is, organization is a good thing, but it’s just a start. As soon as I figure out how to move on from there, I’ll let you know. In fact, let me put “reporting out” on my list….

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

