I need to write something just so I don’t keep seeing my ugly mug at the top of my journal. It’s been there all week, augh! Unfortunately, I have some sort of writer’s block going on, and I’m having problems writing about anything besides the weather (too hot), gas prices (up 35 to 50 cents in a half-week, dammit), stupid politicians (which is a redundant phrase when you think about it), or needing a nap. I don’t think anyone wants to read about those any more than I want to write about those.

When I was a kid, I was kind of addicted to newspapers—my parents got home delivery of both of Detroit’s major dailies of the 1960s and 70s. I would avidly read columnists, both local (like Bob Talbert) and syndicated (like Mike Royko). I thought that someday I would write newspaper columns, too. Fast forward a couple of decades to the age of blogs, and you can now do that sort of thing without having to build up any kind of journalism career at all! The problem is, writing knowledgably about something interesting on a regular basis is hard work. That doesn’t count all the work at building an audience anything like Bob Talbert’s or Mike Royko’s. Just coming up with something to say and saying it without coming off as some kind of moron … well, it would really cut into naptime. Plus, THEY had editors to make their work even better.

OK, the standards of things like LJ blogs aren’t really that high, so I don’t have to achieve anything like Paul Krugman’s quality or quantity. Still, one ought to have sound arguments for things, or something that hasn’t been said a dozen times already. Even if you have something like five regular readers, they might be sharp readers. They might even point out “issues.”

It might be better to play it safe and just write about what’s going on in my life. But it turns out that not much has happened since I parked the car at the end of my Hiawatha trip. Work and sleep, occasional eating and working out, an open mic. That’s about it. I’ll wait till you’re done yawning to continue.

I started a list of writing ideas for this LJ once. I could go back to it and force myself to write them. After all, I claim to like writing, and still have the stray notion of “gee it would be cool to be a writer.”

Enough rambling. I mostly just wanted to say something before the work-week managed to get completely away. Next time will be better.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. maxauburn says:

    I would like to see
    your writing ideas.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

