Isle Royale wolf update

Way back in March I reported that the wolf population at Isle Royale National Park was in jeopardy since their numbers had declined. Researchers didn’t really know why. Today the Marquette Mining Journal has an article reporting that researchers found three wolves had been found at the bottom of an abandoned mining shaft on the island, drowned in the water there. They say this happened between October 2011 and January 2012; it was most likely accidental. One was a young female, and one may have been the alpha, which could explain why the pack seemed to split up and go off in different directions as related in the New York TimesScientist at Work blog. The MJ article did not say anything about how the survivors are doing now.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Isle Royale wolf update

  1. maxauburn says:

    That’s sad.

    Someone should seal up that abandoned mineshaft.

    • songdogmi says:

      Yes, it is sad.

      The park is mostly wilderness, so the humans can’t really build anything there, but I would think they could do something relatively simple to close off that mineshaft. That would fall in the category of restoring the land to a more wilderness-like state, which is OK from what I know.

  2. changeling72 says:

    How awful. It would be interesting to know how the survivors are doing.

    • songdogmi says:

      I’d love to know. I’ll keep an eye out for any reports. I bet the wolves are harder to track in spring and summer (tracks are harder to follow since there’s no snow and a lot of foliage), but I hope there’s some news about them before winter comes again.

Leave a Reply

