New strings, guitar included at no extra charge

Saturday, I became the happy owner of a new guitar:
New Guitar
I remember exchanging some comments with Altivo about twelve-string guitars, which reminded me that it had been too long since I had one. It took a couple more years, but finally I have one again. It’s from Elderly Instruments in Lansing, Michigan, which fulfills another longtime dream to buy a worthy instrument from them. (I’d bought CDs there but never an instrument.)

It was down to two choices, a Guild 12-string that I liked an awful lot and the Taylor. I played both for something like an hour, with Dave patiently listening and even helping by (nervously) holding one or the other. I had the run of the little room with acoustic guitar amps, and it was while testing each one with the amp that the Taylor pulled ahead. It’s so smooth and easy to play and sounds great amplified or not. It’s also awful good-looking. I have to admit that I’ve had more fun playing this one in half a week than I have had playing all my other guitars in a long time. In fact, I wish I was playing it now instead of merely writing about it. Maybe that means I’ve found a way (or a reason) to start doing more music again. At the very least, I have to relearn some songs to take better advantage of the twelve strings.

I pretty much owe it all to Dave. He says you only turn fifty once. (Well, I might turn twice fifty, but I’ll probably forget what a guitar is by then.) This guitar is a gift in honor of that. I just don’t really have enough words to express my thanks, and not just for that but for the patience while I figured out what I really wanted. At one point, I was thinking about a digital SLR camera instead. I’m glad I came around to the twelve-string; I think Dave is, too.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New strings, guitar included at no extra charge

  1. jjfmi says:

    At least you can tell folks that “This is my 50th Birthday present”. I’ve been introducing my own Taylor as “My divorce settlement”. Yours sounds a LOT more fun. 🙂

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to hear it….!

  2. That is a splendid musical instrument.

    This Dave fellow at Elderly Instruments. Is he a very large man, by any chance? If so – ask him (next time you see him) if he recalls a place by the name of Michelsen Music in the U.P.

    • songdogmi says:

      I don’t think I saw the Dave you’re thinking of. The Dave I was referring to is my friend* from Indiana, who was up visiting for the weekend.

      *close, personal friend sort of person, like.

Leave a Reply

