Snapdragon explosion

Snapdragon explosion
Snapdragons have grown in my front yard by the house since I moved here. I’m careful to not say “I’m growing snapdragons,” because I’m not doing anything except for not getting in their way. Any that I have are due to what Rosemary, the previous owner, planted, or maybe even HER predecessor. Early on, they were sparse. Some years, it seemed that more grew in the cracks of the sidewalk or just outside the planter box than in it. But last year they really took off, and this year, because winter was not harsh at all, they have come in with a vengeance. This is the best they’ve ever been.
Snapdragon variety
The colors are all over the map. I don’t know if that’s how they originally were, or perhaps over fifteen years they vary all on their own. I like them just this way, though. If they do as in the past, they will go dormant in midsummer and come back strong in the fall. They often last well past the first frost.
White snapdragon
The main bunch is about a foot high, but a few like this white one are closer to two feet tall.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snapdragon explosion

  1. maxauburn says:

    Thank you for posting those, Charlie.

    We had those at the farm.

    George was very fond of them.

    So am I.

  2. ogam says:

    Those are beautiful, songdog!

    Thank you for posting your pictures and sharing them with us.

Leave a Reply

