Not much to say, lately. The big event was my mom’s 73rd birthday, whieh we celebrated on Sunday with a nice dinner and gifts. My sister got her two very pretty potted plants that will be suitable for a bigger pot on Mom’s balcony. I got mom a new TV antenna, which I hope will allow her to watch her shows without them breaking up. (The apartment building has lousy reception, and don’t even get me started on the digital TV conversion here.) I hope the antenna works; it’s bigger than the one she has, and that’s supposed to count for a lot. Yet it just hangs on a wall or lays flat. No rabbit ears, because there aren’t any channels anymore on the frequencies that rabbit ears were good for.

Otherwise, I’ve been mostly working and sleeping. Last night, I went to jjfmi‘s open mic at Mentobe Cafe* in downtown Farmington. It’s a very nice shop with tasty food and beverages, and a good bunch of musicians. I even took my own guitar, but managed to mangle the last song so badly I had to give up. Well, the other two went pretty well, at least, and everyone else’s songs were pretty spiffy.

* pronounced “meant to be”

About Charlie Montney

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I work from home most days leveraging resources to create shareholder value. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to

  1. maxauburn says:

    I miss the old days, you know, when you could watch tv on just a crappy little antenna.

    Now, even tv isn’t free anymore. 😦

Leave a comment