Stupid is everywhere

I mean, this isn’t even the most egregious example, you can kinda see how it might happen, but still: The Shelbyville, Tennessee Times-Gazette reports that a man was arrested for passing counterfeit money, when in fact it was a real, though old, fifty-dollar bill. (This was noted in BoingBoing.com too.) Careful, don’t let your head-shaking get out of control, you might get whiplash.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stupid is everywhere

  1. maxauburn says:

    Wow, that story is dumber than dumb, and stupider than stupid!

    • songdogmi says:

      It is dumb. The only thing that makes it almost understandable is, maybe the clerk was so young she or he didn’t know much about old money. That’s no excuse for the manager to not know; I mean, the manager is responsible for the money and should know all about what it looks like.

      And then there’s the increasing trend of people assuming the other person is some sort of criminal and the police need to be called for just about anything. That’s thanks in part to our government telling us to be suspicious of everyone who’s the least bit “off” for the last dozen years (since 9/11/01). Instead of asking the customer (who might’ve been totally cool and not some sort of dangerous nut) about the bill, they called the police. Let’s all overreact.

      • maxauburn says:

        “Let’s all overreact.”

        Yeah, I get the third degree from store owners on the few times I present them with a $50.00 bill.

        I know it’s my long beard, and my longish hair that causes them to be suspicious.

        Last time I checked, I am no harm to anyone,
        except to the insects invade my home. 😛

Leave a Reply

