Thunder over Louisville 2012

Thunder over Louisville 2012
The opening salvo from Thunder over Louisville 2012. This was pretty much the best shot of the bunch. In the part I cropped out you could see that I had the flash on. I turned off the flash so I wasn’t annoying everyone else, but then all the other photos turned out at least slightly blurry. Ah well.

Thunder over Louisville 2012 (2)
There are two barges for launching fireworks, one on either side of the Second Street Bridge, plus the bridge itself is wired to “blow up” at various points of the show. Soon after this photo I turned the camera off and just watched. It was an amazing show, with a huge climax followed by an encore that was even bigger. I wish I had photos, but I think I’m happier that I wasn’t watching the finales through the camera’s viewfinder.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thunder over Louisville 2012

  1. maxauburn says:

    Those are both very cool photos!

    I bet the finale was awesome!!!

    • songdogmi says:

      It was very awesome. Granted, I have thought that Thunder goes for sheer massiveness where some other displays have more finesse. But I like to be shocked and awed sometimes. (If I can use “shock and awe” here.) I did not think the encore could equal the finale, but it exceeded it. Too bad I don’t have photos, but I bet they can be found on Flickr or somewhere.

  2. changeling72 says:

    Looks like a fun display.

    • songdogmi says:

      It was fun, yes. Even though we were partly under a bridge, I don’t think we missed much of it. Plus it was a very well-behaved crowd.

      During the day, well before it gets dark, they have an air show over the river with a lot of vintage and current military aircraft. That’s because people come very early to get good spots for the fireworks, so they get entertainment too.

  3. These are great pictures. I’d love to see them at full rez.

    I’ve only been Louisville once. But I’d like to go back sometime.

    • songdogmi says:

      Both photos are cropped from the original 7 megapixel (for artistic reasons), and then shrunk; the un-shrunk versions would be pretty big. I’ll see if I can put them on Flickr, if you can get to them.

      Louisville is pretty cool. I’m getting to know the landmarks, not just the famous ones but the underappreciated places. Plus, it seems very functional, unlike other cities I know. *trying not to look around him*

Leave a Reply

