Confession

I went to McDonald’s for lunch this past Saturday. It was my first visit there for a burger and fries since early January, when my trainer read me the riot act about my diet and I stopped going for fast food. (Dave and I have been to McD’s twice for milkshakes after DSO concerts this season, but that’s kinda “our thing” and doesn’t count.) I had two cheeseburgers and a small fry, and Mom had a Big Mac, because she gets one of those a year. We also had an apple pie each.

I wish I could say that it was a negative experience, that I had lost my appreciation for their greasy fatty salty food products and was now disgusted with it or at the very least very “meh.” But that would be a lie; it still tasted good, and I had absolutely no regrets. So, unfortunately, I will have to rely on willpower alone to keep myself out of fast food restaurants. Isn’t it kind of risky to have but one weapon in one’s arsenal?

At least the apple pie prices make sense now. It used to be 89 cents for one or a dollar for two, so every time I wanted just one they tried to upsell me for just another eleven cents. Now one is 75 cents and two are $1.50. A little bit of a discount would be nice, but … well, it doesn’t really matter to me, now, does it?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confession

  1. maxauburn says:

    I’m glad you loved the McD!

    I haven’t had food there in a few years now-
    but did have a Shamrock shake last month!!!

    MMMMMMMmmmm!

    • songdogmi says:

      I dunno about “loved”… I was kind of wary. I don’t want to get hooked on it again. I’ve been eating more vegetables and cooking more at home, which saves money and has been healthier, and I’ve lost about ten pounds since January.

      I’ve actually never had a shamrock shake, even though they’ve been around for years. I love the chocolate shakes, though.

Leave a Reply

