April 15, 2012

Self portrait with lilacs
My lilac is not very productive this year. It has about half of the blooms that it did last year, and I had thought last year was not very good. I think the wacky spring weather has something to do with it. I haven’t seen any other lilacs, though, so I guess I don’t really know. Other flowering bushes and trees are doing OK aside from being significantly early.
Lilac detail
Almost all the bloom clusters are only partly open. But I don’t know if they’ll be much better when they’re completely open.
Stray cat
My yard has been adopted (for now) by a stray cat. It was on the deck when I got to the backyard to take the lilac photos, then scurried to the side yars where I got this pic. I couldn’t get very close before it scurried off again. A few minutes later, as I was in the car backing out of the driveway, I saw it on my front porch, lounging. I tried to get a photo of that but it didn’t really work out.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 15, 2012

  1. maxauburn says:

    You look great there!

    The lilacs do look nice, regardless.

    That’s a gorgeous black cat! Too bad the little fellow hasn’t got a home.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks 🙂

      The cat looks pretty good for a stray. It’s not all that skittish, judging from how it behaved yesterday. It didn’t want me too close, but it didn’t run away terribly fast, either. I think I’ve seen this one around the house and my neighbor’s for a few weeks now.

  2. kenny2fl says:

    Spring Flowers

    Our spring was ridiculously early [February]. We don’t have lilacs in Florida.
    I have beau coup azaleas and the satsuki’s, that bloom in May, are blooming now — about 3 weeks early.

Leave a Reply

