We Almost Lost Detroit plus a few decades

It’s Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., Detroit’s next big thing to storm the world of music, doing the legendary Gil Scott Heron’s “We Almost Lost Detroit”:

I’m not sure I can give enough context here. I mean, one could go on for pages. The band gives a lot of it in their blog post announcing the premiere last week. The song itself refers to the near disaster at the Enrico Fermi nuclear power plant north of Monroe in 1966. This version does a cool job mixing the band’s sound with the unique Detroit vibe of the original, which was released in 1977. The video shows a lot of locals singing the lyrics, and I kinda sorta recognize a couple of faces.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

