Interview with Tracy Grammer about Dave Carter’s music

AcousticMusicScene.com linked to an interview of Tracy Grammer, the wife and musical partner of the late Dave Carter. I’ve raved about Dave & Tracy to just about anyone interested in songwriting or music in general, because his words and their music reach such creative heights. The one question I most appreciated asked about Dave’s writing and creative process. Much came from dreams, which, well, to say he could do “lucid dreaming” seems to be an underestimation. His entire background wasn’t listed but it’s clear from the songs that he knew a whole lot and could synthesize so much (something I admire greatly in Neil Gaiman, as well). I won’t say much more, because the interview is well worth reading.
     I’m such a fanboy, and I could squee all night (maybe just about their harmonies on “Tanglewood Tree” or the melody and arrangement of “.41 Thunderer”). I don’t think I can be objective. Nor do I feel my songwriting measures up in any way, except perhaps in this: “He would say it’s important that the story be true, emotionally true,” Tracy said in response to the question of what Dave would tell aspiring songwriters. At least I try for that, and I have a couple of songs stalled because I probably haven’t worked out the truth completely in them. Truth is probably the best thing a songwriter can strive for.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Tracy Grammer about Dave Carter’s music

  1. kenny2fl says:

    If I wrote songs from my dreams they would be tangled, without a final verse and the performer would be in his underwear.

    • songdogmi says:

      That would make an interesting music video or two. 🙂

      I guess you get the start from the dream, and then you wake up and sketch it out, then edit it, so it would end up with a final verse while still keeping the spark that started it. I haven’t had a dream I could turn into a song, not that I remember, so I’m just going with what the interview had.

Leave a Reply

