No, I’m not voting today

Michigan’s presidential nominating primary is today. I’m not voting because my candidate is running unopposed. Actually, there may not even be a ballot for the Democratic party, I don’t know; the Democrats are holding a caucus in May. But a whole mess of people want me to vote in the OTHER party’s primary, which just … seems wrong.

I mean, the Democratic party chairman, Mark Brewer, kinda-sorta implied that one could go vote in the Republican primary and still come back for the Democratic caucus in May. He hasn’t been the only one in the party suggesting this. Apparently 17 percent of the votes in the 2008 Republican primary were by Democrats.

Now Rick Santorum is robo-calling Democrats to get them to vote for him. I guess because he thinks the numbers are all that matters. But spending money to robo-call? Really?

I guess this is nothing new. Even Mitt Romney, himself, has voted in the other party’s primary in the past. Apparently this whole nominating thing isn’t particularly sacrosanct.

Me, I wouldn’t go anywhere near this current crop of GOPers, not to make a point, not to monkey-wrench. Although it’s tempting to go in and write-in a vote for the last honorable Republican, former Michigan governor Bill Milliken. I’m sure he wants nothing to do with the current Republican party, either, anymore.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No, I’m not voting today

  1. songdogmi says:

    A friend tells me he expects that there will suddenly be a new candidate when the convention comes around in August, because they’ll realize there’s no way anyone out there now can defeat Obama. Someone who was thinking about it but changed his mind last year, like Jeb Bush. Would be interesting to watch. Then again, I don’t want them to have a better candidate who would beat Obama. He/she would end up with all the elements of the Republican party that I don’t want anywhere near the White House now.

Leave a Reply

