The boys from North Dakota / They drink whisky for their fun

Really big
In the summer of 1982, I worked in Medora, North Dakota, running a multimedia presentation (i.e. slide show run by reel-to-reel tape) on the history of the area. In September of 1990, having acquired a camera since college, I went back and took photos. Having cabin fever, I scanned some in tonight and posted them to Flickr. (At the time I’m posting this, I’m still adding to the set. So if it seems small, check back in a little while.)

Subject reference: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2v6SOY1aEc

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The boys from North Dakota / They drink whisky for their fun

  1. laurel714 says:

    I’ve been there! World’s biggest bison. How could I not?

  2. Anonymous says:

    May she continue to improve. 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    For what it’s worth, I actually DO check in at LJ almost daily (at least on weekdays) to read posts on my friend list. Most of the entries there are RSS feeds (some humor sites), and there are still a few regular posters out there. The posts by you and Tom Smith are the ones I always enjoy reading, when they appear.

    As far as my own writing, I’m generally not HOME often enough to park myself by the computer to write something longer than the odd FB post, reply to an e-mail, or some perform some other relatively quick task – and that saddens me. It’s also reflective of why my songwriting has dropped WAY off over the years. And it’s not as though I haven’t had any interesting adventures to relate…

    My $0.02 cents: There are those of us who look forward to hearing what you have to say, and in a form longer than a FB post… and find it’s worth the time to read. I should keep that in mind, in case anyone is interested likewise in my own rantings. 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    I can’t say why anyone moves their blog to any one service, I guess. They all have individual reasons. I have to admit, I always thought that coming to LJ (or any blog service) to meet people was not my reason to be here; it’s a nice side effect, sure, but the point was to write and be read, and read others’ writing. If one reads someone else’s blog long enough, one gets to know a person and that leads to something of an attachment; of course, that’s cool.

    When people left for Twitter and Facebook, I think they maybe weren’t all that interested in writing in the first place, but for social connection. When they leave for another blog site, though, I guess they’re looking for some other set of features. I dunno.

Leave a Reply

