If you’re wondering why new posts are kind of scarce, it’s because I seem to be working out a lot these days. Three times a week I have physical therapy for my back, and three to four days I have my regular gym outings. Today was the seventh physical therapy session out of 12-18 sessions projected so far. These consist of a warmup (usually treadmill), stretching, a basic weight training circuit, then some specialized exercises designed to stretch and strengthen lumbar muscles. These exercises use contraptions that almost look inspired by medieval dungeons. But the therapists are very friendly and professional and it’s hardly like torture at all. I do the stretching at home and work; consistency is key, I’m told. I’m noticing improvements; my left toes are no longer numb, and my back cracks for the first time in at least four months.

At the gym, my trainer has me focused on lower weight exercises, with specific emphasis on form. This is pretty important, given my back issues and some odd things happening in my shoulders (not pain, just… odd). It’s not as much fun as leg pressing 750 pounds or more. The change is for the best, though. Learn things correctly, and thoroughly, and then the bigger, fun stuff can come later, and I can keep doing it.

Along with that, I’ve been eating better. No fast food, very little soda, hardly any potato chips, no added salt, salads every day… it’s been the hardest part, very stressful, and a month in it still feels more like denial than a celebration of health. But I’ve lost about ten pounds since the beginning of the year. If I can get past feeling deprived, it’ll be awesome.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Keep it up Charlie! Good to hear you’re taking good care of yourself and congratulations on the weightloss!

  2. kenny2fl says:

    That sounds like a good program. My therapist told me “maintain the arch in the back”. Twenty-seven times a day I tell myself “maintain the arch in the back”.

  3. kenny2fl says:

    I have a semi-inflated beach ball that I put behind my back.

Leave a Reply

