Writer’s Block: School Ties

History, focusing on American history, with a minor in political science. Do I use it for my career? Not directly. But, when I started my career, I was an editor, and being an editor uses a lot of information from a lot of different fields, even if it’s not for a book specifically on, say, history. So I think my degree has been useful indirectly. But when I have more time, I might offer my theory on how college (in America) might be largely an exercise to delay people getting completely into the workforce.

(I just answered this because it seemed interesting, not because I’m out of other topics.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer’s Block: School Ties

  1. maxauburn says:

    I dropped out of college after three years; my biological male parent refused to send me to art school, which is what I’d wanted to do since I was 7 years old.

    I’d been an english major for the first year, and I changed to art major during my second year.

    User icon is of a charcoal drawing I did of my cat, (1977-1984) Maude.

    I don’t think I’d have dropped out, had I been allowed to attend an art school.

Leave a Reply

