About yesterday… The meme seemed kind of cool; I’ve run into variations on it before, and finally jumped on this particular twist of it. Coming up with the words was fun, and I tried to have a different one for each survey I answered.
          There’s also the notion of trying to figure out who is out there these days. I get comments from time to time, but I have no way of knowing who all is out there. Maybe I have dozens of readers who don’t have anything they wish to add in comments. Of course, because people didn’t leave a word for yesterday’s “survey” doesn’t mean they don’t read, either. “Scientific” was not a label applicable to the thing.
          One thing I noticed in LJ’s statistics (the ones users get to see about their own accounts) is that there seems to be fewer eyes wandering over this month compared to the last few. I invented a stat measuring page views per entry, just dividing the monthly page views by number of entries in a month — maybe not exactly useful, I suppose. But it seems that there are half as many page views per entry in January as there were in December. Fifty percent is a big drop-off. Made me wonder if people had set a New Year’s resolution to move somewhere else. Then again, when I was posting daily in November, that might’ve ginned up the stats a little. I haven’t posted daily in January, though I’m not quite in the doldrums I was in earlier in 2011.
          I’d be lying if I said I had no doubts about this LJ. Sure, I can do with it what I wish, write what I want, music or politics or photos or invasive species or whatever. Turn it into a lame haiku repository, even. It’s just more fun if people are there enjoying it. This isn’t really a cry for attention, no whoring for comments. If there’s nothing to be said, there’s no need to make something up. Besides, if you’re reading this, you’re probably not who I’m talking about. It’s the people who used to come to LJ who go elsewhere now. If the phone doesn’t ring, it’s them, to paraphrase (and twist) an old country song.

Gah, I’m not sure where I’m going with this. Just throwing stuff on the wall to see what sticks.

P.S.: Life just got over-scheduled, since I’ll be doing physical therapy for my back three days a week for the next four to six weeks. What that means is, I may not be here all that often, anyway; something’s gotta give, and it might be my Internet time for a few weeks. Don’t really know yet.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. this is traditionally a low-traffic time of year … now through the end of March

    I think people in the northern hemisphere are just bored and stir-crazy at this point

    • songdogmi says:

      I think you’re probably right. I see spikes in the fall, which drop off in the early winter. I’ve been making spreadsheets and graphs… it’s really quite pathetic, in a way.

      Maybe *I’m* bored and stir-crazy, and that’s why I keep thinking something needs to be fixed with my LJ. 🙂

  2. maxauburn says:

    Wishing you success with therapy for your back; sorry the MRI revealed trouble there.

    I’ve not missed posting a single day in over two months now; I intend to post every day, and every week, of every month!

Leave a Reply

