What was THAT about?

Yesterday was the birthday of author Lewis Carroll, the guy behind Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Seven years ago another writer, LJ user crisper conceived an event to commemmorate Lewis and Alice, Rabbit Hole Day, a day to write as if one had fallen down a rabbit hole, which would inspire surreality unlike everyday LJ life. (If you go back to the previous entry, the very last word is a link to Crisper’s post from 2005 about it.) That’s how I ended up as a shark in the middle of a SpongeBob SquarePants marathon. I actually have been working on the idea for a whole week, which of course meant a whole week of “Who lives in a pineapple under the sea?/SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS!” in my head. Those* with small children or bad luck at channel-surfing will know what all that means. (Clearly, I need help.)

In years past it seemed to be a robust event. It even got a mention on BoingBoing in 2009. This year, I dunno. Even the inventor moved it to Twitter, which I guess is valid, except I hadn’t thought to look there until tonight. (His are usually very good. Of course.) I’m having little luck finding other Rabbit Hole posts on LJ, which to me isn’t a good sign.

I haven’t made it every year—last year, I recall waiting for my mom to come out of an induced coma on 1/27—but I’ve done a couple. If you’re curious about my other contributions, check out my tag RHD. If you’re not curious and wish this nonsense would end, well, it’s all over now for another year.
__________
* Well, those Americans. I sincerely hope we have not exported that to Europe.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What was THAT about?

  1. zenicurean says:

    Oh, SpongeBob has most definitely been exported to Europe — and beyond! The true horror lies in that it often gets dubbed, which as we all know is utmost heresy.

    • songdogmi says:

      See, now I feel as if Mrs. Clinton should visit the capitals of the globe offering apologies. At least she wouldn’t have to apologize for the dubbing. How do some of those concepts in SBSP possibly translate into other languages?

Leave a Reply

